Opportunity Knocks


On the edge of this island farm, a crinkled, indigo ocean waits

below massive mountains that rise into snow-capped ridges,

like Samurai swords, slicing the blue with ice-pick white

defining the border where earth and sky meet.

Eagles, gulls and terns circle and swoop

as sunlight catches and flashes on their wings, 

their cries falling high above the fog horn’s moan

disappearing like shadows in gossamer mists;

You can’t see them, even though they are there.

You know, but knowing isn’t enough.

All you can see are tussocked rows of lavender and green 

perspective points of view on this land at your feet.

Lines merging, and lost in the brilliant fog, 

they tempt one to enter and stroke

the soft, yielding heads of mauve

knowing this is their moment

stealing the mountain’s glory

like purple Prima Donnas

 

9 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Uncategorized

9 responses to “Opportunity Knocks

  1. Knowing this is their moment…what vivid imagery you painted here!! To me you are THE Prima Donna with words. I loved this so!! Hugs x

  2. moondustwriter

    I love those purple Prima Donnas – sweet poem
    they give off such a heavenly scent even after they are expired.

    Thanks for your visit to my site as well

    Love your site!!

    Smiles form the Moon

  3. Such a fantastic metaphor you’ve employed here!! Absolutely marvelous!
    A very inspiring poem!!! Loved the image as well…

    Have a lovely week ahead!

    • It was all nature’s inspiration I’m afraid. I was just the lucky witness. The day before we visited the farm, we drove by, so I knew what incredible views were at the end of that field. Then the next morning we walked through the farm and the fog transformed it into a magical place. I suddenly realised that without the ocean view, I HAD to pay attention to what was right in front of me. It’s a bit like life, isn’t it? Paying attention to this moment is often ignored when we make plans and dream about the tomorrows. Sometimes though, it rains, or we get sick and curl up in bed, and then we notice how lovely it is right here, right now – how cozy to sit beside our own hearth and see the embers glow.

  4. Oh so vivid. I more than see, I feel, when I read this. And I love the ending and the way the rows of lavender steal the mountain’s glory….and purple Prima Donnas most beautifully on the tongue.

    • Thanks again, Christina. We, like so many other writers here on wordpress, have the poet’s love for getting as close to the image as possible and using all of our senses to gather it in, soak deep into it, then spend it with ink and words.

Leave a comment