Demolition


Submitted to: Imperfect Prose on Thursday

 This week’s prompt: Falling

How sad the demise

of brick and

stone

falling

a noble place

where people went

and stayed

a few hours

weeks

or days

Shelter-inspired ideas

provided work

promoted dreams

yet now

no Thing

remains

not even shadow

Instead I see

busy

nothingness

where people park cars 

empty shells

of themselves

on wheels

left for minutes, or hours

not one moment

taken to reflect

once this place

housed their dreams

No affection remains

leaving 

no possibility

of garden or weed

settling, seeding earth

no identification with

“This is ours”

this structure of pride,

mortar and stone

momentary home

now

leveled

flat and dry

dead cement

tarred black

white-lined, divided

inglorious

storyless

unnoticed space

no longer structure

just a place

to park

and

walk away

 

22 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Uncategorized

22 responses to “Demolition

  1. We had a similar thing happen in our neighborhood just a few months ago. Beautiful old homes torn down to replaced by asphalt. It hurts.

  2. oh, this is gorgeous and sad, friend. this: no Thing

    remains

    not even shadow

    really captures it. the way you put heart into a building… the way you make me ache for an abandoned place; brilliant. i’m so glad you linked up. xo

    • Thank you. A friend’s sad notice about the demolition of a building in her town inspired this piece. Her lament reminded me of how awful I felt after I left home and heard that one of the oldest historical houses in my New England town was torn down to create a parking lot. It felt like a sacreligious rape. Many years later I returned to the town and I realised afterwards, how sad that I returned home and walked the town of my childhood as if the old building had never been there; I didn’t even see the parking lot (I mean who looks for them unless trying to use them?) nor did I notice the space that the missing place left behind. No ground zero was marked for me to grieve. So I wrote this in memory of two noble old buildings. I love writing for your prompts and visiting your blog – it inspires me. You and the other writers open my eyes, ears and mind to so many delightful images, thoughts and feelings.

  3. so sad…the memeories woped away just to make spaces for cars to park…ugh.

  4. I have seen Banglows getting demolished by owners themselves to create highirise apartment buildings or Malls all for commercial consideration.. A banglow will give shelter to one family..a highrise to about 20 or 40 depending on the height.. and that is real and here to continue..

    My worry is that some where far ahead may be thousands of years later it should not happen that aliens from other planets look at earth and feel the same way..But then we can be hopeful…and why not..

    Thanks for your visit to may page..loved your comments.. very inspiring..let us continue to practise happpiness.

    • Somehow I can’t feel as bad about highrises that house people, as I do about car parks. But you are right, our population grows unchecked on earth, so demolitions become inevitable. Happy builders!! 🙂

  5. Oh wow. I wasn’t expecting that ending. It had an impact, that’s for sure. Nice work.

  6. Seems those that make the decisions, make them with no regard to heritage, or peoples sensibilities.
    This piece gave me a sense of disconnection, sadness at the changing of what was better, to what is worse

    Eaton.

    • Thanks for your feedback, Eaton. Disconnection – perfect word to describe this situation and the feelings involved. In a world of exploding population, there will probably be less regard to heritage. As far as people’s sensibilities goes… it takes all kinds – some of us are offended, others say, hey – we need more parking lots. Town planners listen to shop keepers and businesses who pay the largest proportion of town taxes. Without parking, they lose customers. I guess we all have to make way for progress. Me included.

  7. Such a sad tale, isn’t it?? How soon do we forget where we came from, our roots, our very base of existence! I think this poem is very evocative of such feelings of nostalgia (and needless to mention, remorse and guilt)…
    In the name of living in a fast paced world, we just conveniently choose to “forget” all the relevant stuff too.. (sigh)
    Wonderfully expressed, Cindy… and the images perfectly complement your intense words…
    Kudos, my friend!!

  8. Inelle Zshayra

    Excellent

  9. “We don’t have clear cuts here….just cities and towns” Is a line from a poem on which I am working. It came to mind as I was reading both this tragically lovely piece (and the comments that follow it). Great poem Cindy! Sue

    • Thanks, Sue. Sometimes I think we humans are like the humus between leaves, rotting everything we touch – except that humus leaves soil in its wake, and we, plastic scraps and nuclear waste. Yet we are capable of such love, compassion and courage. What a conundrum we make.

  10. This kind of thing happens too often.
    Well stated in you poem

  11. Chloe

    Such a strong message portrayed here and such true words. It’s so sad when places (or people) are no longer remembered for what (or who) they were. This to me goes hand in hand with your poem about gratitude and taking time out in order to appreciate, because we never really know when it will be gone.

    Great poem – thanks! xx

Leave a Reply

