Dawn Ablutions


Starting the day by counting ten things that open my heart leaves me awash in Gratitude, a perfect morning prayer.

Thank you for:

Pink-tinged sunrises, transforming trees and silhouettes

Eagle’s mating cries between wings that steal the sky

Heron – still as stone – takes flight,  a squawking winged dinosaur

Red-shafted Flickers dropping madrona berries on my roof,

and each happy Plunk, landing like a new idea

My golden retriever’s Sigh, soft as her silken Fur

Fresh-ground, steaming-hot Island Coffee with milk and two sugars

Words, and finding just the right one

Windows – my eyes into this island’s Soul

and Doors – God’s open arms into His

~

Submitted to: Poetry Pantry

4 Comments

Filed under Poetry

4 responses to “Dawn Ablutions

  1. I love your list – as list and as poem. 🙂

  2. wordsfallfrommyeyes

    Very lovely.
    I can’t do poetry. I can rhyme & I can write prose, but poetry is often abstract and spacey – I can’t do that. I like poetry I can picture. This was lovely.

  3. I enjoyed this piece very much. Some excellent thoughts and ideas you’ve played here…

    Red-shafted Flickers dropping madrona berries on my roof,
    and each happy Plunk, landing like a new idea

    &

    and Doors – God’s open arms into His

    both these grabbed me! 🙂
    Thank you for reading and commenting on my poetry, I appreciate that very much.
    Eaton

Leave a Reply

