The First Time We Met


When I entered your space

you stood in the corner

Your dark dove eye

sought my gaze and waited

not knowing if I had come

to comfort or hurt

though I had the power for either

You, expecting nothing

except perhaps that I might

reach out to touch you

but I didn’t

 

I squatted inside the stable door

drew your eyes to my body by gazing

at your shoulders and back

waiting until you

came to me

curious and open

You smelled my hair, snorted

massaged my scalp

velvet lips and the whiskered

soft pad of your chin

all the while me wondering

if you’d challenge

this strange invader

with your teeth

but you didn’t

 

I rose to my height

nestled my shoulder

into your neck

deep as an overstuffed chair

and my cheek against your mane

crisp heavy sharp-strands

You nuzzled my back

Then, and only then

I touched you

 

My palm smoothed

by the grain of your neck

human skin met silken hide

sliding down the iron-grey

slipping across warm wrinkles

that gathered at the meeting

of breast and shoulder

soft like a puppy’s muzzle

My skin craved more

 

You stood, listening

my hands traveled

the continents of your withers,

back, sides and belly

wide like a baby whale

twitching when invaded by fly

stilled for my exploring hands

yet not ignoring

your senses never sleep

 Fingers rounded the curve of your leg

sliding down, smooth glide

I found the velvet vessel

feeding forearm to frog 

pulsing and soft 

under tendon and flesh

hidden in the groove

between bones

splint and cannon

You shifted, passed your weight

to the other locked leg

lifted one tidy hoof

into my hand

 

Planting your head

on the bend of my back

you exhaled across my bottom

hay-sweetened breath

our introduction

complete

19 Comments

Filed under Non-Fiction, Poetry, Uncategorized

19 responses to “The First Time We Met

    • Thanks, Magda. She meant so much to me, I really struggled with writer’s judgment as I wrote this, thinking it has to be perfect. Reading it again today, I realised that I missed the mark – tried too hard and lost my voice in the struggle. I think I have to scrap this one and start all over – keep it simple and direct – just like Wiggy was. Ah well, writing is after all, a process. Blessed be that darned process.

  1. This gave me goosebumps… It was lovely, Cindy!! The details were fabulously done!
    “twitching when invaded by fly” — I really loved this bit…
    Among animals, I adore horses… According to Chinese Astrology, I am a Horse sign… and that makes me happier than ever!!! I think they the MOST graceful creatures ever!

    An excellent tribute to this friend, Cindy… Bravo!!!

    • My daughter is a horse sign as well; that’s interesting because there have been many times when reading your work, I felt that your energy reminded me of her. Sounds like the Chinese knew a thing or two.
      Thanks for the comments – always so welcome

  2. This truly touched my heart. Well done.

  3. Your love and understanding of horses is in every line. This makes me miss my horse, Gypsy, very very much…

  4. Reading this was a magical few minutes. Very well told.

    Pearl

  5. reminded me a bit of the horse whisperer when reading your poem..
    how well you describe the feelings – the gaining of trust – the allowance to go ahead – the interaction – the texture of touch
    i have to turn around to make sure there’s not a horse standing right behind me, blowing his warm breath on my neck..

  6. http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/09/08/thursday-poets-rally-week-28-september-9-15/

    if you wish to contribute this week, let me know.

    your talent is highly appreciated by me and by fellow poets…
    hope to see you in soon.
    Happy Friday!

  7. i wish i had a horse,simply amazing…

    • You don’t need to have a horse, as I managed to discover. People who own horses are always glad to receive help. This was how I became familiar with horses. For 6 years, I groomed, mucked out, fed, and exercised other people’s horses – all the while learning from them how to take care of a horse. It was a wonderful time of my life and I learned so much from those magical animals. After my “volunteer” training, I finally managed to get my own horse – she was 2 years old and only just learning how to carry a rider and do the things horses and riders do. I had her for a year and a half. I trained her to jump and do gates, and stand while I picked berries from the hedges, and she was an amazing, wonderful friend. Finally I had to sell her, for she reached a point where she was ready to do lots of fun pony-games and competitions and I wasn’t. I found a perfect owner for her so my horse and this girl went on to win many competitions together and to grow up together. I feel so blessed to have had this experience, those years of horse and pony filled me with something I will never lose. One day I hope to have another horse, but the next one will be retired and I will just take good care of it in its old age and give it back some of the pleasure that horses have given me.

Leave a Reply

