Love-Hate Relationship


I share it with my aged dog

and with the skunk who flavors the night

outside our bedroom window,

with the gardeners who sit on the lawn

eating knapsack lunches of red thermos soups

and coffee with enchiladas and chicken wings,

and with my neighbor who cries after dark

only a screen and her loneliness between us,

and with thick-skinned shrubs by the door,

and with my writer’s desk – the patio table

that serves in all weathers except those below frost,

with the tissue that catches my sneezing results,

with roofs, gutters and condo paths

and black-paved neighborhood drives,

and with drains that carry the showered flour

of green and yellow wind-bourn dust,

I share the fare of reproduction

unplanned and promised tomorrows

from insect-assisted procreation,

wiping it off my laptop keys

washing it from swollen eyes

and coughing in irritation

yet…

all the time

loving what it brings – trees,

leaves, grass, bark and blossoms,

spring green and summer gold

and autumn, crazy and colored,

taking only the winter to rest, until

up the nose it goes again

this love-hate relationship with

Pollen

 

Pollen photos courtesy of Google images

Shared on Imperfect Prose

 http://canvaschild.blogspot.com/search?q=imperfect+prose

And: Theme Thursday:

 http://themethursday.blogspot.com/

19 Comments

Filed under Poetry

19 responses to “Love-Hate Relationship

  1. oh, fantastic! over and over, you wowed me. and i didn’t know what you were talking about, truly, until the last line, yet you kept me enthralled. well done, writer friend! thank you so much for linking. xo

    • Thanks Emily! Looks like we wowed each other today. I’m still visualizing that poor young mother in the store with her black eye and placated child. And your beautiful painted script-figures. I love your website. So glad to have found it, and am encouraging others to give it a visit.

  2. I adore this, truly. the words have a musical quality and like the person before me, i didn’t know what the subject was until the last line. I just knew i liked it. 😉

    • Thank you Templeton Rat. Love the name, TR! I’m glad you heard the music – I never feel prose becomes poetry until the rythm and assonance lull me through the lines. So thanks. Glad you enjoyed it.

  3. this was amazing…have i ever read such a stunning post on a subject like this..? don’t think so…
    you have a lot of beautiful lines in this – but then one that touched me most was..and with my neighbor who cries after dark,
    only a screen and her loneliness between us..
    the loneliness between us…love this

    • Hi Claudia, I’m heading out this morning to play some golf and imbibe some more of that pollen I love-hate so much. Thank you for your comment – and your welcome visits. Will drop into your site later when my lungs are full and my golf bag has lost ball-weight. 🙂

  4. The suspense was well worth the wait-in gold ;). A great piece, captures it readers. A truly inspirational writer, thanks for sharing this. *Warm poets hug* 2U ;0)

  5. AW

    Amazing image of pollen! I love the flow of the words that build up to the final finish. Brilliant.

  6. Barbara

    Haven’t been by in a while… I like this poem, it’s very clever. I was struck by the tender image of your neighbor crying after dark, with only a screen and her loneliness between you. Amazing how something like pollen ties so many seemingly unrelated things together…

    • Thanks for your comments, Barbara, and for dropping in again. I have been so busy working on my book, I haven’t been able to tear myself away long enough to blog. Will get back to it as soon as I can.

  7. Jingle

    you write so well,
    super breath taking imagery.
    hope you well…

    you have got talent here, welcome to attend poets rally week 35, where you share your poetry and make new poetic friends…

    let me know when you are ready.
    Merry Christmas…
    keep writing…

    • Bless you for your kind comments. I’ll be up to my eyebrows with this book until Jan 31st when publisher wants final manuscript. After that, believe me, I’ll be ready to come back and play on Jingle with my poet friends again. In the meantime, best wishes for health, prosperity and joy in writing.

  8. Chloe

    This one really shows your amazing talent! I was in awe throughout this poem.

    Apolgies for leaving so many comments today, but I’m trying to catch up on my reading and haven’t stopped by your blog for a while. I’ll try not to leave it so long next time (one of my 2011 goals). Anyways, I just wanted to say that your writing is AWESOME and I look forward to reading more in the future.

    Hope you have a great day 😀 xx

    • How could my day not be great with your wonderful comments and thoughts? Thanks so much Chloe. I know what its like trying to keep up with reading, as well as writing and work – been struggling myself a bit. Will come back to enjoy your site after Jan 31st – my publishing deadline. Big Hug and good wishes for 2011

      • Chloe

        Thanks 😀 Your comment really made me smile! Good luck with your publishing deadline…and all the best for an AWESOME 2011.

        Hugs from across freezing cold Manchester, UK – brrr xx

  9. Cute photo of your pet. Great read in here. 🙂

    women pheromones

Leave a Reply

